Belgium: Bruges

One of my Belgian day trips was to the beautiful city of Bruges.  The Flemish architecture here stretches back many centuries and has all been preserved incredibly well.  It was about two hours from Brussels by train and I left in the afternoon to go see what I could see.  For breakfast though, I did take in a really nice meal.

image

I arrived and started walking into the old town right away.  I was immediately struck by the unique, uniform architecture that lined every street.  It was somehow even more dynamic around the main square.

image

There were a few museums, and some churches and such, but I didn’t make it to all of them.  I went to the Basilica of the Holy Blood that claimed to have a vial of the blood of Jesus.  I always take these claims a bit skeptically, but there were many people making the pilgrimage to the quaint little place.

image

One of my last stops was to one of Belgium’s many renowned chocolate shops.  I went with a one this countries finest creations, the praline, in dark, milk, and white varieties.

image

And just like that I was on my way home.  This really is a cool looking city, probably the one with the most unique appearance of any I had been to.  I could have surely spent some more time here, but I was content to siphon some of the best bits and call it a day.

image

2 thoughts on “Belgium: Bruges

Leave a Reply

