Köln

Another day trip within reach of Frankfurt was the city of Cologne.  This time was to the north, but again only an hour away by train.  I didn’t know a whole lot about the city, other than what the girl I met in Copenhagen mentioned about it.  I wasn’t really in the mood for a big agenda, but I figured hanging around somewhere new would be better than the hotel room.

I knew there was a big church in the city somewhere, and it took me one step out from station to find it.  This cathedral is the largest in all of Germany and was impressive both inside and out.  I walked around the perimeter before heading in.

image

The massive interior and stained glass were worth the visit, but I don’t really know how to describe it in any novel way.  I’ve seen a lot of churches, and this was bigger than most of them. 

image

From there I walked down toward the river with no plan in mind and ended up doing Sudoku and people watching.

image

The last stop was to their old town where I sat some more and listened to soothing saxophone.

image

This update was hardly worth writing, and had it not been in a new town I wouldn’t have.  I’ll add this photo of a smoking Mickey as a bonus though.

image

Leave a Reply

