Kutna Hora

I was really excited about making a day trip an hour away by train to the small town of Kutna Hora.  Here there are three famous churches, all UNESCO sites, and each looked very different from the others.

image

I arrived and then walked over to the most interesting of the three, the Kostnice Ossuary.  In the 1300s, a Teutonic Knight brought soil from the holy land back and scattered it around the chapel here.  As a result, being buried in the cemetery became the cool thing to do, and over the centuries the remains of the rich and famous were brought here.  Having an abundance of bones but no where to put them, some guy in the 19th century started to arrange them inside the chapel.  He must have had a lot of time on his hands, because this would have taken a while.

image

After a short walk from the station, I had arrived at the ‘bone church’.  It was surrounded by a densely packed cemetery, which I inspected and then went inside.  The guy arranged the bones into incredible piles, decorations, and even a chandelier that utilized each of the human bones.

image

If you got too close to the massive piles of bones alarms would go off, especially by the coat of arms.

image

When I bought my ticket, I opted to get a combo pass to grant me admission to a couple more of the town’s noteworthy places of worship.  The Cathedral of Our Lady of Sedlac was my second stop and it was nearby my starting point.  It had just been refurbished at great expense to bring it back to its original form.  The place is very old, and despite being Gothic the main color was a unique yellow.  I walked around for a while, reading a provided pamphlet that explained a few of these these things.

image

Leaving the church, I had to walk a couple kilometers in order to reach the town center.  I didn’t really feel like doing it, but to come all the way here for only an hour seemed a bit like a waste of time.  Also, having already paid for that entrance ticket guaranteed it.  The walk took me through the nice town and featured a few lookout points over the changing autumn leaves.

image

I was going over to another can’t miss cathedral, also very old and unique for the roofline.  The Church of St. Barbara was another example of the Bohemian Gothic style.  The inside didn’t really blow my mind, but with all these churches under my belt that,s getting harder and harder to do. 

image

The sky was darkening as I left, so I half strolled/half jogged back through town to the nearest train station.  It had been a fulfilling day, and when I got to the hostel I planned to celebrate with dinner.  I went to the store, but when I came back a big party was underway.  They invited me to help eat the mountain of food they had already prepared, and I happily accepted.  It meant that I spent money needlessly on some food, but the food I got instead was exceptional and required no effort from me.  I ate a lot of it.

While eating I really enjoyed the opportunity to chat with an Egyptian guy and learn a bit about what in the world is going on over there at the moment.  He had attended all the protests and was able to paint a picture different from the one presented by the American news networks.

2 thoughts on “Kutna Hora

  1. Justin, how do you even know about these places you visit. Most of us have never heard of them. Always interesting. Stay safe.

Leave a Reply

